The end of daylight saving time means Americans gain an extra hour of sleep but lose afternoon sunlight.

State legislatures across the United States are actively working to eliminate the century-old practice of changing the clocks twice a year.

Since 2018, the majority of states have considered or passed laws to end the biannual clock adjustment, with 19 states supporting year-round daylight saving time.

A significant barrier to change lies in a 1960s-era federal law that must be addressed by Congress to allow states to make alterations.

Daylight saving time in the United States began in 1918 during World War I, with the aim of reducing energy consumption.

The Uniform Time Act of 1966 mandated uniform start and end dates for daylight saving time across states, restricting year-round usage unless Congress intervenes.

Efforts to change daylight saving time practices continue, as Rubio reintroduced the legislation in March to address this long-standing issue.